[Meta] NaNoWriMo Day 11

Today brought me 2,589 shiny new words, in two chunks, for a total of 22,669. One scene I'm REALLY happy with but may not be able to keep!

Today brought me 2,589 shiny new words, in two chunks, for a total of 22,669.

I'm currently incorporating expository chapters, where I explain details of the world separate from the storytelling, in the form of interviews or articles or so on. It's a device I'm stealing wholesale from John Brunner's Stand on Zanzibar, which had an outsized influence me as a teen, I must admit. I don't know if it will stay that way in the finished product, but hey, this is a draft. So one of my chunks today was an incomplete interview explaining Newer York's clan system.

The other is a scene I've had in my head for about a week, but it happens much later in the book—in fact, given that the book is already mutating its outline, I'm not absolutely positive where it will wind up. It's altogether possible it will wind up being a "darling" I have to kill. But I'm so happy with it right now that whether or not I wind up having to kill it, I'll probably wind up posting it, either as an outtake or an excerpt.